With this weekend being the perfect time for fans of The Mandalorian to catch up on the latest release of season 2, it makes sense to figure out where exactly the wildly popular live action TV series fits into the Star Wars franchise.

For those approaching this from a chronological perspective, the series is set five years after the Return of the Jedi and the fall of the Empire. So if you were going to watch the live action movies, animated series and shows, this is how it would look:

  • Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace
  • Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones
  • Star Wars: The Clone Wars (animated series)
  • Star Wars: The Clone Wars
  • Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
  • Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope
  • Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
  • Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi
  • The Mandalorian
  • Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens
  • Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi
  • Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker

There are many other ways to view the Star Wars franchise, though, such as the release order, the Machete order and the Galaxy Brain order. We detail them here.
New episodes of The Mandalorian season two are being released each Friday on Disney Plus. The first episode came out on October 30, 2020, and there are eight episodes in total.

Related Articles

Check out episodes of The Mandalorian on Disney Plus.